• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • appelm
    Speed Bag Trainee
    • Jan 2009

New to speedbag.. question on gloves/bag

Hi.. I just got an Everlast "high performance" speed bag platform as a gift. I'm just getting started with it. I also was given the Speed Bag Bible book and DVD. I have a beginner's itch lately and can't stop thinking/dreaming about the speed bag now!

First off, I realized the mittens that come with this platform are horrible. So I decided to order some new gloves. I got these TITLE Speed Bag Gloves. I didn't see any review of them on this forum. Any thoughts on them? I find them a bit clunky so far. And I wonder if the extra padding is interfering with the trajectory of the bag. I find the reverse punches particularly tricky with them. Maybe I just have to get used to them.

I also decided to follow Alan's suggestion and get a bigger speed bag. I'm not sure what size came with my Everlast platform as it doesn't say. I also wonder if its vinyl. I think it is. Anyone know? I considered an 11x8" bag but it just seemed so big from Tim's bag comparison video. So I decided to buy this Title 10x7" black bag instead. When I received it recently though it seems to be almost the same size as the one that came with the Everlast kit, though perhaps a touch bigger. But all of a sudden I'm hitting a lot better. Its softer, probably because its leather, and seems to react a lot better for me. Does 10x7 qualify as a 'bigger bag'?

Thanks for all the great information on this forum and speed bag central.
  • Speedbag
    Author of the Speed Bag Bible, founder of speedbagcentral.com

• Feb 2006

Originally posted by appelm View Post
    Hi.. I just got an Everlast "high performance" speed bag platform as a gift. I'm just getting started with it. I also was given the Speed Bag Bible book and DVD. I have a beginner's itch lately and can't stop thinking/dreaming about the speed bag now!