• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Mistapohl
    Speed Bag Trainee
    • Oct 2006

Hello, With a Quick Question

Hello All. This is my first time posting here but i ran into this site yesterday when I was doing some research on buying my heavy bag and speed bag. I have been reading about the different sizes of bags and was wondering a few questions in general and about my setup.

1. I know that there are different sizes. (5x8, 6x9 etc.) How is that measured?

2. I bought an everlast stand that included the bags for 150 yesterday at academy sports and nowhere on the bag did it say what size my bag was.

3. reading the forums and other sites, it is my impression that a larger bag is better for beginners, am i correct? if not, what is a good size to start on?

i have taken a few pics on my phone so you can see what im talking about.

Thanks in advance for your time.

-mistapohl

• Speedbag
    Author of the Speed Bag Bible, founder of speedbagcentral.com

• Feb 2006

Answer to question

hi Mistapohl

Glad to have you here. I will try to answer your questions.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

1. I know that there are different sizes. (5x8, 6x9 etc.) How is that measured?

Answer: That is the dimensions of the bag, width (5) x length (9). I'm not sure exactly what is measured on the bag, for there seems to be no standard between bag manufacturers. Two companies can make a 5x8 and they won't really match each other in size and shape. But the standard is pretty close and the sizes are pretty standard, although a narrower bag seems to be in vogue at some companies.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

2. I bought an everlast stand that included the bags for 150 yesterday at academy sports and nowhere on the bag did it say what size my bag was.