• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • juanantoniomartin
    Speed Bag Trainee
    • Jan 2007

question on swivel for 6x4 everlast

Hi Im new to hitting speedbag. I got a 4214 for Christmas and mounted it on an everlast link type swivel. Ive stayed at several times a week minimum since them and can do basic rythem including elbows, fwd and reverse roll and rcp or lcp to opposite lsp or rsp. Anyway I was feeling frisky and got a 6x4 xsmall everlast bag and the loop doesnt seem quite long enough to fit the swivel Im using. Did I recieve a defective bag or should I be using a different swivel with the 6x4. Thanks for this site and Thankyou Speedbag for your site and videos. It made the fun level and learning curve so much better as well as faster.
  • BillyMack
    • Sep 2006

Sometimes the loops on a new bag are pretty tight. There is also usually an open seam inside the loop that will catch on the swivel, making it hard to slide it on. You might try inserting a screwdriver or other metal rod into the loop and twisting it back and forth (gently) to stretch it out a bit.

Comment

• juanantoniomartin
      Speed Bag Trainee
      • Jan 2007

It does slide in and is useable. However the loop does'nt seem long enough. Occaisionally the link of the swivel gets hung up on the seam of the surrounding top of the bag. BTW I was expecting the 6x4 to be alot faster, rather it seems to be just alot less forgiving and only moderately faster. Thanks for the help.

Comment

• BillyMack
        • Sep 2006

I've had that happen as well. One thing that works well for me is to secure the bag with a zip-tie. Wrap the zip-tie in a figure 8 through the loop and over the swivel. This keeps the loop in place along the swivel and will make it a lot harder to get caught on the swivel. Maybe your new bag just needs to be broken in a little bit.

As far as the disappointing speed, perhaps there are other factors such as air pressure of the bag and stability of your platform...

Comment