• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • 97mustang82
    Speed Bag Trainee
    • Aug 2007

Need some wood help on making my homemade platform

First of I would like to day that I have never worked on wood before, I'm more of a auto mechanical person. Some of these questions may sound basic in the wood world, but I'm very new to this. Also, I apologize for the long post.

So I went to home depot yesterday and got a long single piece 2x4 foot of birch plywood cut in half to make two 24" pieces of wood at 3/4" thick each. I'm going to glue the wood together to make a 1.5" thick board. I'm not going to cut it round, if anything I'm going to make it an octagon which wouldn't be as hard to do as I'll only have to cut straight lines. I bought a cheap sand block to sand down the rebound side of the wood and sanded it down just a tad and got it real smooth. The set up is going to be held by a pair of cheap everlast platform brackets from their $50 kit. I bought the everlast platform used for $10 on craigslist. AThe brackets are going on a 30x27 plywood which I will the nail onto 2 wood posts in my garage. Now here are some I have so you know what I'm working with following some questions...

It's just a mock up and it's not glued or nailed yet.

Heres a pic I took sideways to see what it would probably look like.

QUESTIONS
    1. What type of glue should I use? I bought the cheapest wood glue they had, Elmers carpenter glue (in pics). Should I just keep this and use it or return it and get some other type glue?

2. Nails. The guy at the store said it would be good to nail the 2 boards together along with the glue to be safe. Is this nessecary? I figure just nail the outside together.

3. Extra wood. Should I get one more piece of plywood to make my board even more thicker, 2.25"? I know I'm going to use sand on the top anyways, so will this even benifit me, or would it just be for a thicker look.