• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • gash07
    Speed Bag Trainee
    • Aug 2009

Hanging a heavy bag restricted by low ceiling

Hi all this is my first post here and I'd like to say what a great forum it is. I am an amateur boxer and I'm trying to install a heavy bag (50kg/110lbs) in my home, I have a converted loft space which would be Ideal work out territory but for one thing, ceiling height is a mere 6' 6". This presents a few problems in that all bag stands are out of the question as they are simply too high, and if I fixed a ceiling hook at this height the bag would hang far too low. So my question is this, if i reduced the chains on my bag to a minimum is it possible to then hang this from a speed bag swivel mounted directly to the ceiling, as I'm not sure how the bag would react when being hit or how the swivel would react to a heavy bag being pounded beneath it I thought I'd ask some seasoned campaigners.
  • Kyle
    Speed Bag Guru
    • Nov 2006

i wud use a normal heavy bag mount as speed bag swivels are not designed to hold up that much weight...and i also had to cut some chain links out of my bag. me being 6'1" i found almost all bags hang to low for me and i havent had any problems. if u have any more questions id be happy to answer but u shud be fine cutting some links and putting a heavybag hanger directing to the ceiling studs.
    ________
    Glass pipe pictures
    Last edited by Kyle; 09-11-2011, 06:53 AM.

Comment

• Tim
      Administrator and Founder of SpeedBagForum.com

• Jan 2006

Originally posted by MelloYello
      *This is a picture of my "first release", the one I use now eliminates the S-hooks allowing the top of the bag to be directly in contact with the bottom of the hanger
      Pretty cool idea!

Comment

• metaldad
        Speed Bag Guru
        • Apr 2007