• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Sam
    Speed Bag Trainee
    • Jul 2011

Home-Made speedbag

I'm only 17, and love boxing! I also love the speedbag there so i decided to order my own. I bought a 60squida board and bag, turns out it was utter rubbish! I'm am very good with woodwork and resistant materials, have been throughout my school, and i thought to my self, i want a full refund, to which they said 'why?' and all i stated was 'i could make better out of scraps!' So i put myself to the challenge.

I went into 6th form the next day, and asked if i could use some of the scraps of wood and materials etc in the tech department, which was fine. I started drawing different designs on ProDesktop to get the right dimensions. I used this forum to get different ideas and where to start, so thanks for the help! i then cracked on with the making.

I used:
    2 x 600mm Plywood
    4 x roofing bolts
    6 x large wall screws and plugs
    2 x 550mm steel bar
    2 x 400mm steel bar
    2 x support steel bars
    1 x 300mm steel bar (each bar is roughly 50mm thick)

First i cut out two perfect circles out of the ply wood, each 15mm thick.
    I then glued these together for thickness, also to reduce vibration.
    I the cut the steel bars out of two, veeeeeery, long bars, and drilled four wholes in the 400mm bars. ll ll
    I welded the 300mm bar to the two 400mm bars to get a ll=ll shape.
    I then drilled the 550mm bars 3 times, 100mm from the bottom, 100mm from top and 100mm down from the second whole.
    I drilled the diameter of the housing bolts through the board.
    i welded the ll=ll shape to the 550 bars, 100mm from the bottom whole.This then gives you a wall bracket.
    I then welded the support bars to the wall bracket. This is now very strong and stable.
    I attached the board to the wall bracket.
    Then sprayed it all black, and printed of a tribal printed vinyl and stuck it to the board.
    FINALLY attached the speedball and swivel.

DONE!