• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • rudy
    Speed Bag Trainee
    • Jan 2009

New here to everything and need a set up design

Hi there,

I am new to Boxing, speed bags and heavy bags and it is pretty safe to say I am addicted.

I started with a trainer at a boxing gym, however now have a set up at home and am learning there.

My problem is that I went out and bought one of the Century units with a 100 pound everlast bag and a century speed bag. (it is a combined unit)
    I have 3 25s on each peg and the thing still rattles like crazy and is incredibly noisy. I have also had to strap the bag with two ratchet straps to the unit as hitting it hard will knock it through the drywall, I cant move around the bag, I am now pretty much hitting a solid object strapped to a post. Basically I think the thing is a POS.

Second problem is the speed bag platform. It is painfully slow. I have replaced the swivel and it is still very slow. From my lurking on the forum it could be the rattling of the unit that is preventing the bag from working.

I am wanting to start over with this. My basement is drywalled and so i cannot strap a bag to the ceiling. I also want to try to keep the noise level to a minimum as my kids are sleeping in the morning when I train.

Can somebody get me going in the right direction?
  • Kyle
    Speed Bag Guru
    • Nov 2006

i think a wall unit is the setup that is widely used by mostly everyone here and is what i would sugest for you. i would also say you should put some sand bags on top. the sand will cut down vibration (making it a more crisp rebound which makes it faster) and noise. and depending on what wall unit is available to you i could give you some further information on how to make it better. or try and make one on your own if u can. theres a great thread in here about home made platforms if your intested in going that route. if not give use some set up models you like and we can get you going in the right direction.
    ________