How I made my Whitely ball and hook super quiet.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • garyspeed
    • Jun 2015

How I made my Whitely ball and hook super quiet.

Im very new to speedbags. Lately I found an old platform and it had the ball and hook in it much to my ignorance. Anyway, once I got it installed up on the wall I noticed it was quite noisy and clanky. I guess its part of the charm but I like it quiet and besides that, clanky means metal is wearing away and these swivels are no longer readily available.

I drilled out the hole in the ball about 1/4" deep and about 5/16 wide to make space for a knot to sit flush. I used paracord, tied a knot so that it hung at the same length as the hook did and attached the bag.

Then I put Sil-Glyde lube in the ball joint. Unbelievably smooth and quiet. It feels like virtually zero friction and zero sticky spots.

This thing is silent except for the punching and the actual hitting of the bag on the ring. I think the rebound rings are even quieter because the bag only makes contact with the ring and there is no 'slap' of the bag against a flat surface. I also think the rebound is stronger because the force is compressing a smaller surface area. I dont know much about physics but, its quite a rebound. I have heard rebound rings decrease life span of bags, we shall see.

I've only been 'bagging' for a few days. Already Im getting better and its starting to get fun, and now its quiet so Im not bothering my family.

Gary
    Attached Files
    Last edited by garyspeed; 06-23-2015, 07:04 PM.
  • Speedbag Seaweed Man
    Speed Bag Guru
    • Apr 2015

I imagine if you make the cord a bit shorter you will get a smaller arc and faster motion. Or have you made the cord that length to suit the size of the bag and where it needs to be to contact the ring at it's belly? Quiet is good if it means longer and more bag action. post up a video of this beast in action if you can! That's a nice job you have done.

Comment