Go Back   Speed Bag Forum > Heavy Bag and Double End Bag

Supporter Links & Advertisements

Heavy Bag and Double End Bag The "other" bags - heavy bag, double end bag, and any other non-speed bag boxing or martial arts equipment discussion.

Old 08-08-2009, 07:07 AM
Speed Bag Trainee

gash07 is on a distinguished road
Hanging a heavy bag restricted by low ceiling

Hi all this is my first post here and I'd like to say what a great forum it is. I am an amateur boxer and I'm trying to install a heavy bag (50kg/110lbs) in my home, I have a converted loft space which would be Ideal work out territory but for one thing, ceiling height is a mere 6' 6". This presents a few problems in that all bag stands are out of the question as they are simply too high, and if I fixed a ceiling hook at this height the bag would hang far too low. So my question is this, if i reduced the chains on my bag to a minimum is it possible to then hang this from a speed bag swivel mounted directly to the ceiling, as I'm not sure how the bag would react when being hit or how the swivel would react to a heavy bag being pounded beneath it I thought I'd ask some seasoned campaigners.
Old 08-08-2009, 12:27 PM
Speed Bag Guru

Kyle has a reputation beyond reputeKyle has a reputation beyond reputeKyle has a reputation beyond reputeKyle has a reputation beyond reputeKyle has a reputation beyond reputeKyle has a reputation beyond reputeKyle has a reputation beyond reputeKyle has a reputation beyond reputeKyle has a reputation beyond reputeKyle has a reputation beyond reputeKyle has a reputation beyond repute
i wud use a normal heavy bag mount as speed bag swivels are not designed to hold up that much weight...and i also had to cut some chain links out of my bag. me being 6'1" i found almost all bags hang to low for me and i havent had any problems. if u have any more questions id be happy to answer but u shud be fine cutting some links and putting a heavybag hanger directing to the ceiling studs.
________