• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Abstraction
    Speed Bag Trainee
    • Oct 2007

Mounting w/Metal Studs

Hello all... i'm just getting started with speed bagging and picked up this setup:

It seems to be pretty sturdy (for the price), but my problem is mounting it. I'd like to mount it in my basement but all the walls are metal studs. The platform has lag bolts for mounting into wood studs, but those will probably just strip right out of the metal studs.

What i was planning on doing was taking two horizontal strips of 1x4 (or 2x4) and mounting those across 3-4 studs with toggle bolts, then using the lag bolts to screw into those wood strips.

I inquired about this at my local Home Depot and they told me that they wouldn't recommend the toggle bolts with steel studs.

a) does the guy i talked to at Home Depot have any clue what he's talking about?

b) what is the recommended setup for steel studded walls - i know it's less than ideal, but i really dont have any other choice in terms of locations for mounting.

Thanks!
  • Speedbag
    Author of the Speed Bag Bible, founder of speedbagcentral.com

• Feb 2006

Hi Abstraction

I have never had to hang a speed bag unit on METAL STUDS. I know that is all the rage in modern construction and I would think someone would know how to deal with that. Actually, it's an excellent topic for more and more people will encounter all metal framing.
    Speed Bag

Put a little Rhythm in YOUR workout!
    *attendee: Every SB gathering so far!
    The Quest Continues...
    Hoping for another Gathering...

sigpic

The Art of the Bag

Comment

• Abstraction
      Speed Bag Trainee
      • Oct 2007

Originally posted by Speedbag View Post
      Hi Abstraction

I have never had to hang a speed bag unit on METAL STUDS. I know that is all the rage in modern construction and I would think someone would know how to deal with that. Actually, it's an excellent topic for more and more people will encounter all metal framing.