• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Paolouccio
    Speed Bag Trainee
    • Sep 2010

Question about Chain Link

Hello people. First time question. Hoping to hear from people who have tried all kinds of swivels and have worked up to good momentum on the bag.

I just purchased the Balazs i-Box Speed Bag Platform which comes with a chain link swivel. I'm finding that the Chain link swivel is stopping my momentum. Is it me (I am a newbie) or is this par-for-the-course when it comes to chain link.

I get going pretty good and inevitably, something about that swivel messes up my momentum. Yet, I read that chain link is something that's been around for years... so why do so many speak of the ball swivel or the u bolt?

Some feedback would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
  • jumpcannon
    Creator of the Powermill Evil Swivel

• Jul 2010

I have been baggin for about 2 months and started out with a chainlink. For "me" it was good for front hitting only. Once i started reverse hitting it really messed me up. I personally DO NOT like the chain link. I then got a U-bolt and wow! Much better control immediately. It made alot of difference for me. I then got a ball hook and like it soso. I am not at a level of doing side hits yes (ball hook prefered). So i pretty much hit with a U-bolt. Swivels are pretty much punchers preference. But my personal opinion is U-bolt all the way! Bag on!
    evilswivel@yahoo.com

Comment

• juxt
      Speed Bag Trainee

• Jun 2010

i used nothing but a ballhook swivel for my first 15 years of bagging until i used a chainlink at my gym. the chainlink seems pretty good for all kinds of punching to me. i just ordered a chainlink for my setup at home because i want to make direct comparison between ballhook vs chainlink.

Comment

• Paolouccio
        Speed Bag Trainee
        • Sep 2010